Skip to content

My Buried Life

October 4, 2010

Inspired by the MTV series “The Buried Life” I began thinking of what I would like to accomplish before I die, or at least grow too old to do the things I want to do.  Here is my initial list…

  • Buy a fabulous camera and learn to use it like a true photographer.
  • Get stuck in an elevator and NOT have a panic attack (I’m very claustrophobic).
  • Help someone really in need get back on their feet.
  • Feel that I’ve taught my children to be appreciative for what they have and be considerate to others.
  • Let go of past resentment towards others and learn to forgive.
  • Travel to Europe on unlimited budget (can hope!)
  • Spend a few days alone on a beach.
  • Learn web coding.
  • Go on a weekend trip with great girlfriends (no husbands or kids).
  • Learn French cooking, successfully.
  • Learn to say what I think more tactfully.
  • Own my own store.
  • Write a book and then a screenplay.

Why do we wait?

What is holding us back from beginning to tackle what’s on our list? Fear, money, time…we all have excuses but before we know it our time will be up.  I’m 37 now. Proud of what I’ve accomplished so far but feel there is so much to learn both from others and deep within myself.  I am very different from the person I was 5 years ago, and 10 years before that.  We are changing, growing, evolving and constantly influenced by others. If there is one thing I’ve learned, life is short…even if you live a long time. 

How to Accomplish Your Goals >>

Need Ideas? (100 suggestions to do before you die) >>

Remember this!

“The most important thing about having goals is having one.”
  —  Geoffrey F. Abert
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 6:56 pm

    Beth, I can totally relate to you. I just turned 32, I’m an 11 year graphic designer, and have been reevaluating my life and goals. I went completely independent at the end of January and it took me this long to get to a point where I feel there is a steady stream of work. But the question at the end of the day is “What about tomorrow?” You never want the well drying up on you. I started up my first ever website, never needed one before, at http://www.salvatierstudios.com and have been heavily blogging, tweeting and trying to give back instead of expecting from others. My goal in my business is to help people with their design issues everyday without selling them things they don’t need, but there’s always that question looming over me “What about tomorrow?” It’s scary being a business owner these days, but it is exciting as well. My goal is to take what I do now and re-imagine it. You know what they say, “The best way to predict the future is to create it”.

  2. October 5, 2010 8:40 pm

    Dennis,

    Keep plugging away! Passion, talent and drive will make your business successful. I have learned that taking the time to create personal and professional relationships is what matters in developing your business. You are essentially your own brand. Good luck and thanks for posting!

  3. October 6, 2010 3:53 pm

    hi!This was a really superb topic!
    I come from roma, I was luck to approach your subject in google
    Also I get a lot in your subject really thanks very much i will come daily

Leave a Reply

