Skip to content

How hate turned to love

July 23, 2010

My mom constantly reminds me how much I dreaded working on my computer in high school.  I have faint memories of this too. Frustratingly trying to figure out the programs, typing one finger at a time while still attempting to put together the process of my paper in my head.  Too much to do, too much work, too damn annoying!  For years, I fought the computer and hand wrote papers. My first Mac was purchased my freshman year in college (student discount!).  It was overwhelming at first when putting it together and getting it set-up.  However, the internet (DSL) and chat rooms were a new popular find.  As I sat down in front of my new purchase, with my four roommates peaking over my shoulder, I chatted away with many new friends I suddenly had online!  Needless to say, my computer theory suddenly changed.  This wasn’t annoying, nor frustrating.  In fact, it was pretty entertaining!

Over the years my love for computers grew (mainly Apple).  As I became more comfortable, more open to exploring its possibilities I began to rely on it.  This morning my husband got a new laptop and it’s an understatement to say he’s technologically challenged.  So here is where I come in.  Wow!  He actually needed me and depended on me for something other than taking care of the kids lunches, or emptying out the dishwasher or preparing dinner (ha ha).  I managed to transfer all his data, sync his billing and calendar, set up his printer and email account (which needs a little tweaking but I’ll figure it out).  Not to pat myself on the back too much but given where I started I was pretty impressed I managed it all.

What is the message I want to convey in this blog you might ask?  That sometimes what we hate can turn to love and love can turn to possibilities.  My freelance marketing business depends almost 100% on my computer and if I had not taken the plunge I wouldn’t be in this position.  What do you hate that you now love?  How has that changed your life?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 23, 2010 9:28 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how new goals and visions can create new possibilities. Wonderful questions and a wonderful account of reflection, reframing, and new actions….

Leave a Reply

